top of page

Artist To Artist | Julia Nichols


When it comes to capturing that vintage feel, Julia Nichols does it well. With a range of influence, from ‘50’s rockabilly to ‘60’s hippy and ‘80’s grunge, Julia’s photography evokes a mood from another time though posing, models, and most notably, editing. Her Facebook page weaves seamlessly between portraits and landscape images, each with their own distinct style and editing, yet somehow forming a unified work that features Julia’s ever evolving editing style, and unending inspiration from decades past.

Who are you and what sort of art do you create?

To start things off, my name is Julia Nichols. I’m a photographer based out of Peterborough, Ontario. I mainly focus on portrait photography but I also dabble in nature and outdoors in my spare time.

How and when did you first get into photography?

So I was about twelve years old when I first received a camera, granted it was very crappy. I spent a lot of my youth on the internet and started to become inspired by the images I saw. I remember seeing a YouTuber by the name of Mitchell Davis who happened to be a photographer, and his photography really sparked something in me. By the time I was in high school I knew it was something I wanted to pursue, so I ended up taking a night course in photography at Fleming College while I was still in 12th grade. By the time college rolled around there was no question that photography was what I wanted to do.

What normally inspires your work? Where do you get your ideas for creating the images that you do?

My current inspirations come from life around me. Anyone who sees my work will notice that I’m heavily inspired by anything ‘50’s related. I love the whole classic pinup/greaser look. But beyond that, before a shoot, I like to talk to the person I’m photographing and get a sense of what they would like. I then like to collaborate and come together to create a series that is really enjoyable for everyone involved, as well as hopefully the audience that sees it.

What sort of gear do you use?

I shoot with a 5D Mark III. And I normally use a 24-105mm macro lens as well as a 75-300mm zoom lens.

What kind of tools do you use for post-production?

Post-production for me has no rhyme or reason. I’m someone who goes into each image as it’s own separate idea. I’m a fan of making my images look pretty sharp with contrast and/or colour so that it pops. I’m also very fond of giving my photos a faded effect to enhance them with more of a dreamy/vintage mood. All of this is done in Photoshop; it’s the only tool I use.

What is your favourite image that you’ve taken and why?

Picking a favourite photo is like picking a favourite child, I’m not sure if I have a specific one. When I was in college I had an assignment where I took a photo of my nonna by window light. In post-production I made it black and white. There’s a lot of emotion conveyed through her eyes and it has character. I’m still pretty happy with how that turned out.

What artists or works do you admire and inspire you?

Everyone’s work really inspires me! I come across photos from not only my peers that I’ve gone to college with but also photographers that have been doing this for years. As far as other photographers go, I do really admire the work of Matt Barnes and Dirk Mai.

Are you currently working on any projects?

I’m currently working on a project, which I actually shot yesterday. It’s very much inspired by pinup and rockabilly style. The photos have an edgier feeling to them. There are a few different locations that we shot at that really enhance the vibe of the shoot.

Do you have any advice for aspiring photographers?

My advice to aspiring photographers is to really learn your craft and be inspired. Never compare your work to anybody else’s, because nobody sees things exactly the way you do. In my experience never put down your camera, always keep shooting no matter what the subject. Don’t give up on your dreams! :)

What’s your favourite movie and why?

My favourite movie is probably 500 Days of Summer! I just love the general concept of a romantic comedy being realistic and not a cliché fairytale ending. In addition the visuals of that movie, combined with its soundtrack, really make it a standout movie. Basically, just go watch it if you haven’t!

 

Connect with Julia:

 

Gallery

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page